Rope Climb

Hello,

After watching Royal Navy School on channel 4 they seem to a lot of the rope climbing exercises.

How do you train for something like this when you don't have a 30ft rope?? Also how do you do it? I've never done it before so any tips?

Thanks

They'll train you while you're there.
It's mostly technique, but if you really want to practice something chuck a towel over a pull up bar and do pull ups, this practices the grip. Don't do too many though.

Faded

Midshipman
I struggled massively with rope climbing in training. Every IMF session I would dangle about halfway up, I only made about 3/4 full climbs in 8 weeks. At the start of week 9 I had a teach session in the gym and something finally clicked because I made all the climbs after that plus 6 on IMF pass out.

If you want to be good at them, work on upper body strength, hip flexors and core. Although you don't really climb with you arms its more driving up with your legs.

Check out 'royal marines rope climbs' on YouTube for an idea.

Sorry if that's a bit vague, I've tried to forget my rope climbing experiences.

Did it in Ganges, OK, next time I needed to hang of a rope with bare hands was Royal Arthur, failed miserably, no one cared as it was over water and they were guaranteed a big splash?
Big splash or tidal wave??

In reply to the OP, its all about the legs in reality. The idea is to lock off the rope between your feet with your knees bent and then straighten up taking hold of the rope as high as you can then repeat until your head hits the ceiling.

Don't worry, its definitely not the macho BS rope climb version you see in movies where it is all arms.

The clubswingers will be very good at teaching correct technique.