RNR Officer - Non-direct entry

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by SDB0509, Jan 23, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Is it possible to become an officer in the RNR later on if you have initially joined as a Rating? I could not be considered for direct entry as I do not pocess sufficient UCAS points, although I am studying a Masters degree in Law.

I have heard conflicting advice on this area so I am understandably a little confused. Hopefully some of you guys might be able to shed a little light on it?

Cheers

2. It certainly is, and many officers in the RNR began life as ratings.

However, in my experience (I stand by to be corrected; I last saw someone get knocked back for not having a good enough maths GCSE grade about five years ago, and things may well have changed) there is no way around the minimum educational requirements and historically having some higher qualification is not considered acceptable in lieu of the minimum requirements, and having been a rating for a few years doesn't make a difference; if you don't have the UCAS points, you don't have the UCAS points. Will your Masters in Law come with extra UCAS points?

Our resident Careers Office Advisor will be along soon enough to lay down the law, I expect.

3. Purple_twiglet

Purple_twiglet War Hero Moderator

If you really do want to join the RNR then I would suggest that you need to ask the following:
    Do you want to be a manager or a practitioner? Most officers spend their time doing paperwork related activities, while ratings tend to be more involved in coal face work - a fairly broad generalisation, but an important one. Its much harder to deploy as an officer and takes longer to get there, while ratings can be deployed fairly easily.

Officer in RNR is not all its cracked up to be.