RNR Officer during Uni

HMS Sherwood or HMS Forward

• Total voters

MenInSlacks

Midshipman
Hi all,
Long time reader first time poster. Sorry it might be a long one.

My conundrum is as follows:

I'm at university in Leicester and am planning to join the RNR as an officer while there.

However there are no RNR units nearby. The closest are at Nottingham (HMS Sherwood) and Birmingham (HMS Forward).

HMS Sherwood is slightly closer but I was wondering if anyone had any experience with these units and whether one had any particular merits over the other?

Also any advice on preparation and moving forwards with the officer route is appreciated. I was advised I could be taken on as a rating in training at one of the units while doing my officer training and thus gain travel expenses (as a student my wallet is bloody tight) and having nights at the unit to get acquainted.

So anyone with experience or knowledge of this route would be of great help.

Cheers,

Men in Slacks

Trainer

War Hero
Book Reviewer
Leicester to Nottingham = 30 miles.

Leicester Birmingham = 44 miles

You will get 25p a mile travel Home to Duty for every drill night you attend, up to a max of 50 miles each way. If you go by road or motorbike.

So £22 per drill night to Birmingham and back.

Believe you me, in RNR terms both those units are right on your doorstep and you are spoiled for choice.

You will get these expenses whether you are a rating or officer. If you have the A levels (180 UCAS points or 3 Ds) you can apply for Officer, if you have 5 GCSEs including Maths and English at Grade C or above. Else join as a rating and become what is known as a CW candidate.

There is an AFCO in Leicester, why not pop in an have a chat?

Hope that helps...

MenInSlacks

Midshipman
Thank you for the quick replies :D
You will get these expenses whether you are a rating or officer.