RNR 16s

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by NautiusMaximus, Apr 16, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just wondering what other people's experience is with getting these forms approved by your units. I've recently had one rejected that I sent in 2 weeks before the training event, because apparently 6 weeks notice is needed (wouldn't it be nice if someone had told me that when I joined?) This is despite the training event in question still being promoted in our unit long after the 6 week deadline had passed.

I'm pretty new to all this, and finding it rather baffling...
  2. Never had that problem mate, only reason I can think of for them to refuse is that any flights to wherever you were going may be much more expensive <6 wks before the travel date.
  3. I think it sometimes depends on the unit, or even the PSI you're submitting them to.

I've been on training BEFORE an RNR 16 has been submitted.

I've had training cancelled after submitting an RNR 16 and recieving the budget control form confirming my authorisation to go.

I believe a certain unti inthe north east :thumright: demands a very early submission.

Bearing in mind that some training doesn't get promulgated that far in advance i would find it extremely difficult. I would suggest that two weeks advanced notice is ample at most units.
  4. the 6 week rule was put in to allow units to plan ahead with regards to numbers and also getting cheap flights if required, also with the centeralised UPO it would allow time for the info to reach them, be actioned and get back to you.

This really applied to your ORT which you should plan out on your PTP or whatever its called now giving you 6 months notice let alone 6 weeks.