RNAC best mess

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by alexissonice, Apr 5, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. ImageUploadedByNavy Net - Rum Ration1396683284.186338.jpg

...two nights in a row. Not a bad start! If ya heading there soon, gimme a shout for some tips to get your mess on tip top form.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2014
  2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

I like threads like this.

For the moment, anyway.

• Like Like x 1
  3. ....bearing in mind I'm no expert at all but here's what I learnt from my experience recently at the RNAC.

Hoover hallways and dorm twice before rounds. Once before bed and again in the morning to touch up and wake up/piss off any other sleepy heads left dozing in your mess.

Get up at 5.45 shower into your kit and start making your bed at 6. Hospital corners (they will demonstrate this) on all four corners and make sure they sit quite deep so the fold is prominant. The RNAC staff are looking for tightness in the sheets so get under the bed and pull the sheets and duvet like hell to get rid of all the creases. The duvet should sit a4 width from the top of the bed where the sheet is exposed (again get it really tight!!) and tucked in under the matress really tight like the sheet. Remove all dust or fluff from the duvet/sheet and place the pillow (folding any excess material in on itself) and place it on the end of the bed making sure the corners point out and generally looking really uniform. Also make sure that nothing underneath the bed (excess bits of sheet) are hanging down. It should lay across the bottom of the mattress and on top of the wires of the bed.