RN Volunteer Bands

Discussion in 'History' started by BusterQuin, Jun 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Have any other rumrationers played in volunteer bands during their service?
    I 'played' bass (tuba) with Collingwood during '78-79
    Was in ships bands on Bristol, Illustious and Invincible
    and finally with Sultan 86-90 doing drum major for my mechs course passing-out parade in Dec '89 and then for the 1990 Bambara trophy where I got a good write up from the RM Band inspection staff
    Varying standards of musicianship from championship brass band players to enthusiastic self taught people like myself, but a good laugh
    Although it was a blue card job in Sultan I spent more time at band practice and gigs than I would have doing duties, only perk was being excused early morning divisions on tues, just have a brew in the bandroom
  2. I was in the bugle band at Ganges, does that count?
  3. I played Bugle:

HMS Fisgard - 1973-74

HMS Collingwood 1974-76: 1978-1979 (including Antwerp visit) 1983

HMS London 1979-1981
  4. HMS Sultan- various years from 1978-1989... so busterquin our paths must have crossed as I was on mechs course until early 1989.
    HMS Neptune- 1989-1991

...top blue card action all the way!!!
  5. Check your pm's normski
    We were definately in the band atthe same time