RN Medical and possible hold-ups/preemptive measures

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by turbinetechnic, Oct 27, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, new to RR/NN however I have been using the previous posts about AIB and BRNC as a very useful source of information to help make my decision.

I'm a Mechanical Engineer who has recently applied and am awaiting the AFCO arranging the initial recruit test. Assuming I pass this, this will lead on to the medical.

I have played rugby through school and in university, and with that comes the usual injuries, concussions, occasional tweaked knee etc. No broken bones though. Last concussion was last November, however all is well and I am in perfect health.

Is there anything that the medical guys will snag on? I'd rather go with previous doctor's letter in hand rather than delay the process further, I have heard that the time taken to review/get 2nd medical arranged is substantial and I would like to avoid delays if possible.

Any comments or experience with the medical would be appreciated.

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

You'll be given an optician report form to book an eyetest and a medical questionnaire to complete, after passing the recruit test for your chosen job, if joining as an Officer. If you are joining as a rating, you will undergo the selection interview first.