RN eye test

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by sophi21, Jun 4, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all im new to all this started my process of joing this week :) just wanted to know more info on the eye test as i dont have very good eye sight and want to know my chances of getting in before i go any further. im -6 in left and -12 in right blind i know :S i want to join as a steward please help me!!!!
  2. :roll: :roll: Keep your eyes on the wall,and read along. Did you pass?????? http://usera.ImageCave.com/scouse/kmc086(1).jpg
  3. I have my eye test this afternoon. im applying for MA ans im blind as a bat so im really crossing my fingers my eyes dont let me donw :crosses fingers:

good luck for ure eyes: )
  4. cheers for that scouse lol good luck Rolotp hope you pass, if you can tell me how much you have to read and what else they ask you to do would be really great to know :)
  5. janner

janner War Hero Book Reviewer

Try the search button on the top right hand side, there is lots of information on the site if you spend a bit of time looking for it.
  6. I also have bad eyesight, but i got VA3, which i was very lucky to pass, just scraped it infact.

Your saying that your right eye is -12, that looks a bit concerning as you look at the VA3 standard.

you need to get VA3 to be a steward, as it logistics

Standard 3 (VA3)

Visual acuity to be achieved without correcting lenses Right 6/60, Left <6/60

Visual acuity to be achieved with correcting lenses EITHER Right 6/6N5, Left 6/24N10 OR Right 6/9N5, Left 6/18N10 OR Right 6/12N5, 6/12N10.

Refraction limit
    Spectacle correction (in any meridian)
    +/- 6.00 sphere or cyl

Below VA3, unacceptable for Naval service.