RN Career Information Request

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Sygnus, Apr 22, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,

(Apologies if you see this type of question a lot) I'm 27 and I've been wanting to get out of an office and into offshore work for some time. Firstly looking at Oil and Gas work, then at the start of this year, considering the merchant navy. I've recently looked into the Royal Navy and have been speaking to my local recruitment centre. However I'm trying to get a non-recruiter perspective, a less bias view perhaps.

I'm wanting to get into engineering, my preferred choice would be a marine engineering technician. However, I'm wondering, with all the cut backs associated with the military these days, is there still a viable career to be had in the RN (hopefully not opening a can of worms there)?

I have a degree (non-transferable), and the recruitment centre advised I go for the officer route, but I have been out of education a good while now and would perhaps prefer to go in as a Rating and get on with the training rather than going to a college or anything along those lines. Although I know that means less progression prospects, perhaps? Are the progression opportunities as a Rating achievable?

Any help would be much appreciated.

2. With respects to engineering in the RN, it's going through a shake up soon called the Faraday ( a search on this site will bring up the details) so it's a case of watch this space.

It's possible to go for officer once you've been in a while, although it has happened in the past that ratings have gone through before completing Phase 2 training but this is rare.