RMR to regular officer

Discussion in 'RMR' started by antmakins, Apr 2, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have posted this in both 'RMR' and 'The Corps' for a balanced response.

I am a university student who is intending to join the RM as an officer upon graduating. Being on a Masters with a year in industry it equates to a 5 year course which is a rather long wait.

I was thinking of joining the RMR whilst at uni and then transferring to the regulars when I have finished university. Is this possible, bearing in mind I want to be an officer.

All help is much appreciated, cheers,

Ant

2. Short answer NO
    You can obtain an FTRS contract with the corps as an RMR officer , indeed there are some RMR officers that have been on FTRS for 10 years or more.
    however you will not qualify for promotion etc and therfore this will not be a good career option i suggest.
    you can however undertake YO training as a commado trained green beret wearing rank . there are i understand two officers currently who were in the RMR (Manchester) whilst at Uni , both passed RFCC were awarded green beret then went on to jion a YO batch, incidentally neither of these guys went through RMR training as officers
    hope this helps

3. Short answer NO
    You can obtain an FTRS contract with the corps as an RMR officer , indeed there are some RMR officers that have been on FTRS for 10 years or more.
    however you will not qualify for promotion etc and therfore this will not be a good career option i suggest.
    you can however undertake YO training as a commado trained green beret wearing rank . there are i understand two officers currently who were in the RMR (Manchester) whilst at Uni , both passed RFCC were awarded green beret then went on to jion a YO batch, incidentally neither of these guys went through RMR training as officers
    hope this helps