RMR as a medical student

Discussion in 'RMR' started by DrMings, Nov 9, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys,

I'm in my first year of medical school and was thinking about joining the RMR. However I remember hearing somewhere that students aren't deployed on operations, is this true? This would put me off somewhat because my course is very long, so it would be a long time until I have an opportunity to serve. I'm hoping that someone can shed some light on the matter.

Thanks! :)

2. It's been done loads of times before. The Med Students who went RMR when I was at uni did nothing else for their first 3 years. Quite a commitment when that's probably the best time at Uni for doing 'other things': especially if you want to join as a Dr because there are plenty of chances to go to AACC.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Thanks for the reply. My main concern is that I wouldn't be able to go out on ops while I'm studying (5 more years :(). The main reason I want to join is to serve as a general duties marine e.g. go on patrols and such because its an experience that very few people have. I also know a few people in the forces and they all love what they do. If I were to join as a Dr I'm guessing I would see no such action.

4. As an RMR I doubt you'd be on patrol as a GD Marine, unless a) we go into another series of ill advised conflicts for a decade it two or b) you were very, very lucky with your mobilisation.

I know a Surg Lt who was awarded a MBE for her services to RM under fire, there were also plenty enough Surg Lt Cdr/Surg Cdr/Surg Capt who got shot at in the back of a helicopter whilst MERT.

At the end of the day, if you want to be a light infantryman, join up as one.

• Like Like x 1
  5. If you think MOs don't put themselves in harm's way then you are mistaken.

You're a bit wet behind the ears for such prejudice!