RMR and Police

Discussion in 'RMR' started by Taff87, Jan 24, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello
    Appologies if this has been done before I've searched this site and can't seem to find any information. Here goes I'm currently in my first year of being a police officer and am looking at doing a stint in the RMR as not only will I complete a lifelong ambition it also looks good when specializing for certain roles in the police ie firearms, close protection. The question is has anyone heard of coppers doing this before if so did they manage it well and secondly would I have to volunteer for tours of duty or would I be mobilized and again do I have any say in the matter if I am mobilized ( I would acctually be interested in doing my bit and working alongside the regs).
  2. Some Police forces allow only a small percentage of officers to be in the Reserves (notably the Met).

You may have to wait for a while before a space becomes available within your constabulary. Best to ask your HR department.
  3. I'm not sure what the situation is these days as to whether POlice ranks can join the RMR but in the 1990's there were serving Police in the ranks with some being C.O19 types. I would wait until the AFCO bods that man this site come along to confirm what the situation is thee days.
  4. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

As stated above, it's all down to the area Chief Constable with regard joining the reserves, some say yes, some say no, others say yes with limitations. My local constabulary only allow 2% of the Police to join the Reserves & operate a waiting list.

The RMR will take you providing you pass selection however you need the OK from the Head Honcho first.

Best of luck.