RM transfer, Writer, CiS, RNP, Supply Chain

TheRedMango

Midshipman
Hi, currently serving RM and looking to transfer. Reasons are, I have 12 years left to serve and I want something a bit more chilled and settle down in my 'older' age. My background is in engineering and computers. I'm looking at, Writer, supply chain, RNP & CiS.

I'm after a mix of sea time and shore time, I enjoy going away but I do have a family and want to be able to reduce the sea time as I progress with the aim to be doing less than 6 months away a year after the first 4-5 years.

Writer sounds the most appealing as I'm a weirdo and enjoy doing admin/accounts, I also understand there's a high chance of shore time with the opportunity to go away early on if I wanted.

CiS would make most sense with my current qualifications however I hear it's a lot of sea time with no shore options?

Supply chain logs, I've done a year as a storeman and enjoyed the admin side of things but not sure it would keep me interested for another 12 years.

RNP interests me however I know nothing about it and can't find any up to date gens on it.

Any info would be much appreciated as well as the best course of action to start the transfer process? What would day to day life look like? Promotion speed? Etc

Waspie

War Hero
Just a view from the cheap seat whilst someone who can assist you pops up!!

Cut to the chase and just become a civvy. Laid back, the ability to use the 'NO' word.

Transfer and you may find you'll be bored farhtless!!

I must admit, I loved saying NO! Your working this week Chief. Couldn't argue.

You'll be working this weekend Mr Waspie civilian person. Errr, don't you mean can you work this weekend! Sorry - Can you work this weekend. Errrr, NO!!

Hehehehehe, Effin civvies!!!!

TheRedMango

Midshipman