Remembrance Sunday

Not sure this is the right sub-forum, but here goes.

I am the sole URNU member in college and so am supposed to be laying a wreath alongside an RAF chappie at my college chapel, and I've never done it before. Is there some written RN protocol for how wreath laying should be carried out? Or, indeed, could any of you give me a few pointers to stop me making an idiot of myself? The Chaplain of the Fleet is preaching and I imagine he's seen enough Remembrance Day services to spot an amateur.

I shouldn't wear head dress inside the church, yes? Not sure where the wreath is to be laid, but if it's somewhere inside, does this mean I shouldn't salute? And if I do salute, the RN expects shortest way up, shortest way down, doesn't it? Final question which occurs to me for now is when, if at all, do I need to salute the chaplain?

@alfred_the_great I know I should have asked. But at least I have the morning service to learn and ask any URNU people about it before my wreath laying in the evening.

@purple_twiglet OK. I can do that

@rosinacarley No. Does that make a difference?

Wannabe_Officer said:
@alfred_the_great I know I should have asked. But at least I have the morning service to learn and ask any URNU people about it before my wreath laying in the evening.

@purple_twiglet OK. I can do that

@rosinacarley No. Does that make a difference?

I guess it would do with regarding the wearing of headgear indoors.

Purple_twiglet said:
Don't drop the wreath!

Step forward, lean down, place it, step back and pause then I always dip my head smartly. Then step back into the line - simples!
My bold - since I'm now a civvy and wear no headgear, when I lay the wreath on Sunday, (on a Lt Cdr's War Grave) the head gets dipped as a mark of respect.

Hope this helps!

Blackrat

War Hero
Book Reviewer
Surely those laying the wreaths, be the service indoors or out, wear headress?

If that is the case, you should also salute.

cadetsmum

Lantern Swinger