Re-applying

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by matt277, Jan 29, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey I applied for the navy in 2009 but couldn't join due to my eyesight I have since had laser eye surgery to fix this. I currently work as a plumber, so was thinking of joining as a marine engineer surface fleet. When I originally did the recruitment test I scored high and the careers officer advised I applied for air engineer technician which I did however I failed the eyetest. Could any one tell me the current waiting list for these two jobs, marine engineer and air engineer technician? Also do you still sign up on an 18 years contract?

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Assuming your pre-operative precription was within accepted parameters (and you checked all this prior to electing to have surgery), the type of surgery is approved & accepted by the service (ie no implants), there is evidence pre surgery/post surgery & 12 months after surgery to prove the eyesight is stable, twelve months have elapsed & you are over age 22 and still under age 30 upon first day of training....

ET(ME) is about 4-6 months, AET around 10-12 months (I think - off the top of my head).

Good luck

3. Thanks yes I checked all the perimeters for laser eye surgery. The age limit confused me a bit it says 29 on the navy website for these jobs. I though was up to 30? I have just gone 27.

4. Can I also ask when does the waiting list start? Is it from after you have passed the recruitment test?

5. Waiting list is from RT as far as I have been told from my AFCO

6. Thanks for the help. Can I ask what the waiting list is for marine engineer in the submarines? Only problem I can see with joining at me age is the drop in wage to join. But I want a different challenge and a structured career.