Rating to Officer ??

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by tfc1991, Jun 29, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. hey

I am currently in the process of joining the royal navy. At the moment i am trying as an officer i have passed all my tests so far and i am waiting for a date for my sift interview. I was just wondering as a rating how hard is it to become a commissoned officer. Obviously it would not be easy but on the royal navy website it flicks over promotion quite quickly.

2. They all are mate, they all are...
  3. :thumbright:
  4. it take on average about 25 years to work your way up, i wouldn't reccomed
  5. Says who?

I know people who have done barely 3/4 years as a rating before going Officer
  6. I've just had a look at some of Archey's other posts Graf - I think he's about seven so don't take much notice.
  7. Thank you guys for the links and advice

the reason i asked is im just thinking if worse comes to worse on my current path and i do not get in. I know that i should not even be thinking this and should be 100% confident that i will suceed but there is still a worry. However on the other hand i do really like the idea of being that person that worked their way up right from the bottom to get where they are. In my current job i know managers that have come off the shop floor are respected alot more (no comparision to life in the forces i know but that is just my perspective)
  8. Which Officer role are you looking at, tfc?