Raleigh... extra phys?

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by ScaleyFins, Mar 19, 2006.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

Newbie here, be gentle! Quick question, i'm off to Raleigh soon for my basic training. I'm joining a branch which requires me to be at my best physically - no problems there. However, i've heard from a few people who've recently passed out of Raleigh that there's not much PT on the go. There was certainly a lack of proper phys and beastings during my 2 week T.A CMSR and i'm thinking that 8 weeks on a similar kind of schedule may result in a decline in fitness. Any further enlightenment on the above would be appreciated.

The main question is; are recruits given the opportunity to take advantage of additional phys and use gym facilities? If not, would an explanatory letter requesting access to PT facilities from someone senior in the branch i'm joining (this was mentioned in the acquaint) have any bearing on such an issue, or would it just be filed in B1N? Again, any advice or info is much appreciated.

2. The gym is available to you, you will be welcomed with open arms. If you have any hours left in the day.....the hardest part will be keeping up enough calories to do additional phys!
  3. Thanks for the quick response, just what I wanted to hear.
  4. There are plenty of sessions for phys and if you push yourself you can get a lot out of them. Your weekends are mostly free and the gym is available then. Raleigh is not taxing physically but like I said (and you probably know) if you work hard enough during the PT sessions they are adequate enough to maintain a level of fitness.
  5. Just make sure you do your PJFT to the letter
  6. Good Lord! Baby sailors don't get beasted.
  7. Hell, after I left basic ( I know I know, not so many yrs ago), a new rule came in;

No one apart from PTI's were allowed to beast you!