Quick Officer question regarding grades

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Thenzon, Apr 12, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Firstly, new member to the community and I would like to say hey. :wink:

Anyway, I have a quick question regarding being an Officer within the royal navy. I have been thinking about joining the Royal Navy but have noticed that for training to become an officer requires a UCAS points tarrif of 180. I know it also requires GCSE / Other grades but i am concerned about the UCAS points. My question is for joining as a Information systems engineer officer is it possible to enter from a UCAS recognised college course? or is a full degree required? I'm currently studying a computer based course at college which offers UCAS but have noticed on the site that many courses that offer UCAS points are not accepted.

If anyone could help or try to help I would appreciate it very much, I thought it may be a good idea to try and find a bit of information before I was to discuss with the local career office. Thanks :)
  2. Hi Thenzon!

Welcome to Rum Ration!

What do you have in the way of GCSEs, AS Levels and A Levels so far?

What is the title of your current course?
  3. The RN website is usually quite clear. It says the following for your branch:

Qualifications: A recognised first degree in a computing-based subject, 180 UCAS points and five GCSEs (A* to C)/ Scottish Standard grades or equivalent, which must include English and maths. For more information on UCAS please call us on 08456 07 55 55.

Doesn't look as though it's an either/or for the degree/UCAS points. There are bursaries available for Uni, but they don't offer many - a handful each year I think.
  4. Hey guys, did not mean to troll the forums but i saw alot of mentions about officers but couldnt find much in the way of IT related jobs.. anyway