Question and advice about 'education'

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Jas1987, Jun 21, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi, I'm currently a university student studying an honours degree, at this moment in time I do not feel that my course or my current direction is for me, I'll try and get straight to the question.

I've just completed my first year of University and face another 3 years, I have the required GCSE's and UCAS points to join up as an officer right now although I read this "Pilot and Observer training for those who join the Fleet Air Arm without a degree is credited towards an Open University degree" What I wanted to know is..

What does the open university course entail?
    When does this have do be done e.g. during training, before I can join?
    How long is the course?
    Would it be better for me to just finish my current university course before joining? (preferably not as I do not wish to wait or go through 3 more years of the course i'm studying)

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Welcome to the site.

Specific questions regarding the OU course content are best answered by a current Area Careers Liaison Officer (ACLO) at the time you are about to start the course as the modules may change frequently depending on your in-service training & which way you are streamed, if you are selected.

The Degree doesn't HAVE to be done, it's up to the individual. Course study is done in your own time for OU degrees however there will be certain elements of your service training which will fulfill several module requirements, which is a bonus.

The course can take as long as you wish, but the longer you take, the more likely it will change.