Qualified interviews, BRNC and flights!

Discussion in 'RFA' started by 8_to_12, Feb 9, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello, new member here with a few questions. I've got an interview coming up with the RFA soon (I'm a qualified 3rd officer) and I'm just wondering what sort of questions they ask generally so I can prepare?

I have read ManchesterWelsh's blog (http://manchesterwelsh.com/tags/royal-fleet-auxiliary/), does the 8 weeks at BRNC still follow this set-up? Finally, where do most of you fly out to when meeting ships?

Thanks for the help! Hopefully I can be useful on here with my previous 3 years cadetship experience in the commercial sector.

2. Seadog

Seadog War Hero Moderator

Somewhere near the ship is preferred. Flying to Dubai when your ship is in Barbados is awkward. Your kit may end up elsewhere but 'twas ever thus.

• Informative Informative x 1
  3. Sorry, I worded that vaguely. What I meant is at the moment what area of the world do most fly out to for meeting ships? I.e. the gulf states, Carribean etc. And if it is a gulf state, Carribean etc which airports do you tend to fly to/which ports do you join?

4. Seadog

Are you asking, "where are the ships?" Spit it out.

5. The most common airports to join/leave via in the Persian Gulf are Bahrain and Dubai, though often for the latter the ship is at Fujairah. More difficult to say for the Caribbean as the port visits are more varied, it's a while since I was last there, and the station is increasingly gapped. Curacao used to be a good bet. For South Atlantic you are probably looking at Mount Pleasant or Cape Town.

But you're most likely to join in BrokenBirkenhead.

6. Haha yeah it could be worded that way as well. Thanks Megalopteron! Could you help with the other two questions if possible? :)

Last edited: Feb 9, 2015