Possible to be URNU TO and in RNR?

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by LaurenH, Oct 12, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I know URNU training officers are list 7 RNR, but I was wondering if it was possible to do that job if you were already in the RNR, on a higher list?

Basically, I'm an officer cadet in the RNR (ex-URNU), and I'd really like to be an URNU TO. I don't think it is possible, but if I could I would definitely be committed enough to do both, and it wouldn't take away from my RNR training.

It ought to benefit both the RNR and URNU to have that link. To me it makes more sense than employing a TO who is not otherwise RNR. However, the difficulty is obviously pay and insurance - you wouldn't expect the RNR to pay for it, so there would have to be a way to be paid by both the URNU and RNR, which is probably not possible. Alternatively, I would actually be happy to do some P2000 time unpaid, because it's good sea experience, but I think unpaid = uninsured.

As I say, I don't think it's possible, but I thought it couldn't hurt to ask. Has anyone come across this dilemma before?
  2. I'm not sure on the original question, if BH doesn't answer, PM me and I will try. However, you are able to conduct RNR training unpaid, you fill a TTAO in, but state that it is unpaid, and then you are covered for insurance etc.
    Also, your unit should be able to advise you chapter and verse.

Good luck, and you could be a real HERMES recruiter. :)
  3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Maybe things have changed more recently, but whilst at Oxford URNU I'm fairly sure our TO's were List 5 Reservists & only the students List 7. That said, they had completed Officer training either in the regulars or reserves. They were not trainee officers.
  4. Purple_twiglet

Purple_twiglet War Hero Moderator