please help!

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by ldh89, Feb 5, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have just passed my psychometric for the marines so my medical will be very soon. I started training about 3 months ago but have noticed that even though i can run 4/5 miles on a treadmill with out hindernace, occasionaly after maybe a mile in cold weather my chest goes tight and i cant breathe!, even after sitting down it still takes a bout 10 minutes before i can breathe clearly. When i was 13 i was given an inhaler for asthma but it was never used it and never needed it, even after doing lifeguard training for over a year and cycling in cold weather everyday. I went to the doctor about this recently and he had written my concern on my medical record, even though i asked him not to. Will my AFCO medical doctor dismiss me straight away beacuse of my concern and my medical history or is there a chance i can still pass, as this only happens irregularly and could just be down to social smoking. Please help, i dont want to f*** this up.
    thanks
    ldh89

2. ldh89

Welcome to Rum Ration!

We have a contributor to Rum Ration who is a RN Doctor. He is going to probably be the best one to advise on this. He seems to look at the questions in this section every day or so but I can't say when that is more precisely.

I'm pretty confident that by this time tomorrow, though, he will have answered this for you.

3. thanks man, i was also told by my uncle that even if i was to pass out of lympstone, that marines with any history of asthma or wheezing are only assigned to fleet protection or guard duty! and would not go to afghan. Is this true also?
    thanks for the help, im a bit panicd about rejection of my application
    ldh89

4. Couple of issues here: