Please can you help me to understand a Navy Service Record?

Discussion in 'History' started by Gapstow Girl, Sep 13, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    I'm trying to find out more about my paternal grandfather, so I sent off for his service record. I've received it, but it has led to more questions rather than answers, as is the way with family history! I'm a newbie to all things navy related so please be patient with me. I can provide his official number, but would prefer not to divulge his name as discussing him is taboo in our family and I wouldn't want his name to appear on a google search.

He's first listed on 16 June 1948 and was a 4th class joiner. He was from Glasgow, but was part of the Portsmouth division. His record states that a 'voluntary discharge' was granted on 6th August 1953. He served for 7.5 years. He was caught and disciplined for desertion in 1952. Given this knowledge, how 'voluntary' would a 'voluntary' discharge be?

Please can someone tell me what sort of work you would be doing as a 4th class joiner? Would you mainly be at navy bases carrying out work or would you be away at sea for periods of time?

He's listed on as serving on the following ships. I have tried to research some of these, but found it confusing, as I think some of these listings relate to Navy bases rather than ships.

List No.
    15/4050 Victory 2-5 16 June 1948
    14/3743 Royal Arthur 1st July 1948
    15B1/4167 Victory 2 8th Sept 1948
    5B2/9 Condor 15th Feb 1949
    52/14 Condor 1st April 1949
    52/14 Condor 16th Jun 1949

NEW PAY CODE 1950

5B2/1 Condor 1st Sept 1950
    5B2/54 Indomitable 4th Oct 1950 & 20th Nov 51 made 3rd class joiner
    18/325 Victory 1-2 21 Jan 1952 RUN
    22 Jan 1952 Joiner 3
    14/2212 Victory 1-2 28 Jan 1952 Joiner 4
    5B2/126 Indomitable ? 21 Feb 1952 Joiner 4