Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Playing music in't Navy

Andrew_1980

Lantern Swinger
I think I already know the answer to this (no), but I'm wondering if it's possible to continue to play drums / guitars if I am accepted.. been playing in bands and recording / producing for a while and would like to keep doing these things (on my own, with other musicians, whatever)..

I am fully willing to put it all to bed in order to join up but would be a treat to be able to carry on with the musical ventures if possible.

Applying as an AET / ET (ME) if that has any bearing on the question, and I don't have any musical qualifications I'm self-taught.

tiddlyoggy

War Hero
Book Reviewer
Sure this has been done before, but many ships have ship's bands who practice together in the workshop/hangar and get to play gigs to their adoring fans at flight deck barbecues etc.

Andrew_1980

Lantern Swinger
:roll: :roll: you could play " The one eyed Piccolo" :oops: :oops:

I'll leave that one to you scouse :lol:

Sure this has been done before, but many ships have ship's bands who practice together in the workshop/hangar and get to play gigs to their adoring fans at flight deck barbecues etc.

Better answer. Cheers!

Most ships/units/air stations/training establishments have some sort of band and if you are good enough then yes there's nothing to stop you. Biggest problem on-board is space and time to practice. But I've seen some good and some very bad bands whilst in the RN.

SM

philcom3

Lantern Swinger
So i can take my tinwhistle along? and learn a few tunes whilst im at it. im self taught and prefer traditional ( hence the tinwhistle :lol: ) what about my hand drums .. anyway i wouldn't mind meeting soem of these ships bands they could teach me a lot :)

jockgolly