Pilot pipeline blanks

Yorkey

Badgeman
Hey, I'm a POC for Pilot - awaiting my sift interview. The forums ahve been really useful for preparing for the interview though I have a couple of questions which I couldn't find the answer for. I understand that pilot pipeline is 4 1/2 years or so but the RN website doesn't list the approximate length of aspects of the pipeline. Here is what I have discovered so far,

Dartmouth - 28 weeks
Grading - Yeovilton - 2 weeks
Aircrew survival course - 5 days?
EFT - unknown
DHFS - 6 months
OCU (rotary) - Unknown

Would be great if anyone could help me fill in the gaps.

RadioSilence

Lantern Swinger
I think that information is available somewhere - I had originally applied for AOP, and I remember reading a sheet that laid out the timeline for training for observers, as well as both rotary and fixed wing pilots. I'm not sure where I got this though - I have a feeling it was in my information pack that my school had. If you can't find this, there is a live chat tomorrow on the RN website, with a pilot. You could always post a question for him!

scouse

War Hero
Yorkey said:
Hey, I'm a POC for Pilot - awaiting my sift interview. The forums ahve been really useful for preparing for the interview though I have a couple of questions which I couldn't find the answer for. I understand that pilot pipeline is 4 1/2 years or so but the RN website doesn't list the approximate length of aspects of the pipeline. Here is what I have discovered so far,

Dartmouth - 28 weeks
Grading - Yeovilton - 2 weeks
Aircrew survival course - 5 days?
EFT - unknown
DHFS - 6 months
OCU (rotary) - Unknown

Would be great if anyone could help me fill in the gaps.
Why dont you PM Pontius :wink: :wink:

karskin

Badgeman
Grading - 7 weeks altogether (including academics)
Aircrew survival - 7 weeks altogether
EFT - 6 months
OCU - Differs depending on what airframe you get streamed to, I believe the junglie squadrons are the longest