Pilot pipeline blanks

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Yorkey, Jan 12, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey, I'm a POC for Pilot - awaiting my sift interview. The forums ahve been really useful for preparing for the interview though I have a couple of questions which I couldn't find the answer for. I understand that pilot pipeline is 4 1/2 years or so but the RN website doesn't list the approximate length of aspects of the pipeline. Here is what I have discovered so far,

Dartmouth - 28 weeks
    Grading - Yeovilton - 2 weeks
    Aircrew survival course - 5 days?
    EFT - unknown
    DHFS - 6 months
    OCU (rotary) - Unknown

Would be great if anyone could help me fill in the gaps.
  2. I think that information is available somewhere - I had originally applied for AOP, and I remember reading a sheet that laid out the timeline for training for observers, as well as both rotary and fixed wing pilots. I'm not sure where I got this though - I have a feeling it was in my information pack that my school had. If you can't find this, there is a live chat tomorrow on the RN website, with a pilot. You could always post a question for him!
  3. Why dont you PM Pontius :wink: :wink:
  4. Grading - 7 weeks altogether (including academics)
    Aircrew survival - 7 weeks altogether
    EFT - 6 months
    OCU - Differs depending on what airframe you get streamed to, I believe the junglie squadrons are the longest

And remember that's only if you jump straight from course to course, you'll likely have a lot of hold overs.
  5. Awesome, thanks for that. My sift is on the morrow and this was the last thing holding up my preparations.
  6. No problem mate, make sure you let us know how you got on
  7. grading is 2 weeks academics, 2 weeks at yeovilton.
  8. It's longer than that, it's 7 weeks altogether