Discussion in 'The Fleet Air Arm' started by JGLP, Apr 9, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi.
    I'm looking for some honest answers to help me follow my dream.
    My future job is pilot, no question about it. Being in the RN as a pilot for me, would be my first choice without a doubt. However; i am mildly short-sighted and as it stands I need to wear contact lenses when I fly Vigilants. I understand that if I was to apply to the RN now I wouldn't pass the eyesight test in the medical. My question therefore is:

"If I join the RN as say, a Warfare Officer, then do the basic training to be a Officer. Once joined as a Warfare Officer I then decide that actually I want to be a pilot and fly for the RN Fleet Air Arm. Would this be possible to do taking into account my eyesight and if so what is the best way to go about it?"

Please reply.
  2. Young Sir to be :wink: you should apply to join the Fleet Air Arm , as a pilot. ( we dont put that RN bit in first as you put it!! but you will be called a Wafu!!!) Dont worry about the eye sight, all the best pilots, ate plenty of carrots and could see in the dark, but were not very good :roll: as to when it came to seeing their round in. :lol: :lol: Can you see black and yellow???? http://usera.ImageCave.com/scouse/scan0025a(1).jpg
  3. See here

Assuming this is up to date, your eyesight needs to be 6/12, but 6/6 corrected. So if your eyesight is 6/12, apply direct for aircrew. If it isn't, I wouldn't even bother trying for sideways entry.
  4. Scouse.
    Thanks for the tip!! I would need contact lenses to pass the eyesight test. I can see black and yellow.
  5. aljh.
    Thanks for the attachment here, thats great thanks. One question; why shouldn't I bother trying to sideways enter the fleet air arm(as pilot)? Can it be done?
  6. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator