Physcometric Testing For Officer.

Discussion in 'Blogs' started by HollyNavy, Feb 22, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. If your going for your physcometric test in the next couple of weeks my advice is to get on to the internet and buy some books. when i went for my test the first time i did pretty bad and decided to go back in 6 months and do it again. During the 6 months i studied the books and i went back last thursday and passed. They definatly helped me to understand the question more! :eek:

Copied from blogs (original entry) - post comments here.
  2. Or better still get your dad to pay for them eh Holly :wink:
  3. I don't know how everyone else feels on the subject, but if I fail my ratings psychometric tests when I want to be an officer, then I'm pretty sure I don't deserve to be an officer, even if I could pass after a second attempt.

As far as I am aware, the tests you get at AIB are harder. I don't mean to put you down, well done for passing, but you'll have to put in a lot of effort to get your test skills up to get a good score at AIB.
  4. I beg to differ. I'd like to think I have a decent level of intelligence (holding an MSc with distinction) and although I passed the tests I found them incredibly illogical and abstract at times. I found that it wasn't the material that was hard to understand but the methodology of answering questions; a distinct memory I had, for example, was choosing between the answer's "no" and "cannot say" on the verbal reasoning! I got a book to look at what the patterns and common criteria could be for the abstract reasoning as I was going off on all sorts of tangents - to realise that the obscure similarities were sometimes '"side a" has three shapes facing up and any number facing down'... I was looking for number patterns and things like that at first!