Discussion in 'Diamond Lil's' started by Topaz, Jun 9, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just wondering If anyone has any usefull links where I can look at todays military photographers?

Ive tried the obvious such as google, but all I seem to find is US phots.

Not urgent Im just curious as to what the images are like, and want to find more info on it :)
  2. silverfox

silverfox War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

Photographers or photographs?

If its pictures then the RN web site has a collection of the more up to date shots.
  3. Urmm more specificaly photographers, as I can find upto date photos on the net they just never say the name of the photographer :)
  4. silverfox

silverfox War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

Well unfortunately that line of interest is going to lead to a few persec issues......
  5. I'm a military photographer. What info are you looking for?
  6. On MoD websites and publications you will rarley find anything other than "Crown Copyright". The independents like Navy News, Globe & Laurel, etc credit most photos whether from a navy phot or otherwise.

The reason is simply down to current policy which is more about ownership of rights rather than credit.

Independent journals have independent editors who decide for themselves and therefore much more likely to recognise the contributor as well as the copyright holder.

But, again, knowing what you are trying to achieve would help you get a better steer.
  7. To be honset Im just looking into information about it and looking up a few names would be nice.

Id like to go into phot when Im in but was just woundering if its something hard to get into or not, I asked my careers advisor but he wasnt very helpfull.

I spose there isnt much point in me worrying about it just yet though.

Thanks for the link x
  8. Hope you are aware that most phot ratings are snappers :thumright: