Pay for University Graduates

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by tonypeers5, Apr 24, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am confused on pay for officers. The pay scale itself is simple enough, but where do you start as a graduate. I have a degree and my first interview in 2 weeks for Pilot officer, but I still don't know. It says on the website...

Non-Graduate Annual Basic Pay
    Midshipman - £14,852
    On passing out of BRNC - £23,475

Graduate Annual Basic Pay
    Sub Lieutenant - £28,216 - £31,188

I understand that I would be on the graduate pay, but was told that this is after you complete your basic training. So what is the pay during training? I need to know as I have a mortgage at home to pay and need to budget.
  2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Gradute Officers start on £28,216 even if it's a non-vocational degree. Whoever said that was after training was incorrect.

Yep, madness I know!

(Incidentally graduates still need the mandatory 5 GCSE's including Maths & English & 180 UCAS points at A level standard from at least two non-overlapping subjects with no individual subject contributing less than 45 UCAS points, but you may already have sussed that one.)

Good Luck.

The question is... Why don't graduate Ratings start on £28K if non-vocational degrees are accepted?
  3. I understand that, but what is the pay during training. Cause this seems to be lower.
  4. Ninja_Stoker

Not sure what tax code or NI contributions you will be on, but the above figure is indeed starting pay, albeit gross (in more ways than one).
  5. Excellent, because that is not too far what I am on at the moment, therefore the bills will be paid. It'll probably be similar as a matter of fact, due to company car tax.
  6. Guns

Guns War Hero Moderator