Patella Femoral Syndrome

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by nutters, Aug 31, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

Hope all are well, on this "lovely" bank holiday??!!

Just a quick one, i have a slight form of Patella Femoral Syndrome, this is basically an ache in the knee and arond the kneecap muscles. I can still do alot of PT, and it doesnt hinder me from doing any phys or anything, it just aches when sitting down.

Does anybody know if this would be a bar from entry, i have had my medical, but what about the raleigh medical?

Thanks
    :D

2. I am no qualified doctor, but i thought it would have been a bar to entry as it will be causing you disconfort, but as you have said you have had your firdt medical you should be fine, they would have turned you down there if it was a bar to entry,

however, there are plenty of people on here that will help you with your questions

Hope this Helps

3. As has been said to me enough times, shut the fcuk up then. :)

4. i thought you fcuked off? please do

5. AngryDoc will, no doubt, be along to give you his qualified and up-to-date opinion, but for now my SBA's thoughts are:

1) Knee conditions in fit young men are are an absolute bugger to deal with, especially in the RN. Why? Because service at sea involves lots of climbing up and down ladders, which places stress on the knee joint at just the wrong angle.

2) Avoid any more damage to the knee by never (ever, ever) playing football, or any other sport which involves twisting the knee under stress.

3) Keep the quadriceps (thigh) muscles strong by straight leg exercises; your friendly local Physio/PTI will be able to advise.

3) Forget the usual crap posted by the Neanderthals who lurk around on this website.

Best of luck and take care with your health.

6. PM'd

7. awww.. am hurt, fck off ure pathetic