Paramedic to RN

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by mikeandsouth, Dec 26, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently at uni studying for a mechanical engineering degree, and have been looking to joing the navy once I graduate. I am however getting a bit fed up of engineering, I'm not enjoying it, and it's nothing like I expected.

I'm very interested now in a career as a paramedic, as I have some experience in this area, and think I'd be happier doing this than engineering (bye bye decent money!). I still like the idea of the navy though, so what I want to know is, what, if any, oppurtunities are there for a paramedic to join the navy? I'm going to ring careers office next week, just thought I'd ask you knowledgable lot first....

2. Why?? :thumright:
  3. Medical assistant is the closest equivalent, see the navy website for details. Its really not ilke a paramedic though, you will spend most of your time on a ship/sub attending to everyday compalints. Finish your degree, and go in as a marine engineering officer, the pay is brill, you get to be an officer in the RN and you will get a cash bonus of 12k as a "golden hello".
  4. Yeah that was my thinking but i couldn't be arsed to take the time to reply. Who want to be a Paramedic eh!! :thumright:
  5. Alternatively, if you want to be a paramedic, go for it, but do it in civvy street. You could join the RNR instead of going in full time, that way you can get the best of both worls, both paramedic and RN.
  6. Noooooooooooooooooooooooo!!! What school of advice giving do you come from??
  7. Indeed, ex RD, I thought Id give him the heads up so he knows what the financial reward for pursuing engineering in the RN is. If he still wants to be a paramedic, then good on him, its a very admirable profession imo.