Open University / Distance learning whilst deployed at sea?

Discussion in 'Submariners' started by Bleak Lemming, Mar 1, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good morning all,

I just have a quick question.

I'm studying part time for a degree in engineering with the Open University, however have applied for the RN as an ET/ME(SM).

I have read that often submariners do distance learning with the Open University in their free time. Is this really the case? And if anybody has experience of doing so, how do you go about submitting assignments if you're on deployed at sea (without internet)? What if you have an exam? Do they make other arrangements?

I've seen that they make special arrangements for people deployed on operations in other areas of the Armed Forces but the Submarine Service seems like a difficult one to get by with this.

Advice much appreciated,

Thanks.

2. I'm not a submariner so can't comment on the specific problems faced but I have just completed an MSc via distance learning and it was clearly understood by the university that certain occupations and deployments can impose specific constraints on returning work to schedule etc.

Discuss the issues with the university course administrator and ensure that you can get the necessary "excused sports" letters from your line manager or appropriate authorities and the university will work with you to find a way to tailor the course around your specific constraints.

3. janner

janner War Hero Book Reviewer

It won't just be the difficulties of submitting course work, once on your first boat you will have no time to do anything other than your normal duties and getting on with your part three training. To be honest I'm out the loop now, but Part three used to take precedence over everything else, so there may be a gap in you Open University studies until thats done.