Older joiner question

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by older_joiner, May 12, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all

A quick question.

Currently I'm 27 and I'm looking at positions open to me in the Royal Navy, specifically along the officer career pathway.
    I've been told that because I am over 26 when joining, none of the warry positions are open to me and that only logistics officer is, unless I have for example a engineering degree.

I have a physics degree and the individual I was speaking to on the main careers enquiries phone line was unsure if that would make me eligible for other vacancies despite my age.

Would anyone have any input on this as some of the other roles on the Royal Navy website look quite interesting.

I've tried ringing my main AFCO this morning, however there was no answer so I have left a message and will try and ring again later.

Many thanks

2. Welcome to Rum Ration, OJ

This might suit you:

http://www.royalnavy.mod.uk/upload/pdf/(new)_AW_RN_EO(TM)_CPL3_CM_20091008131914.pdf

3. Many thanks

It appears from that I can join up to the age of 29, however it dictates a first degree (I assume that means first class degree, ie a 1). Unfortunately with a parental death in my second year I only achieved a 2:2 Bsc (Hons).

Buggar.

edit- I appreciate that it was 6 minutes from posting to response.
    I do promise I'm not just hitting refresh every few minutes :wink:

4. I don't think it means a 1/1 mate. I think it means that the undergraduate degree you do is an engineering subject, as opposed to a Masters degree.

Someone will be along to correct me if I am wrong.