officer training

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by rnr recruit, Nov 23, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey

im about to take my RT in January and if all my other tests go well I might get the chance to go in Hermes as I have already applied for Hermes, my only problem is that I don't have 5 c GCSE'S I have 3 c's and none in English or maths, could my other qualifications boost me up, I have a BTEC Extended diploma level 3 (Triple merit), a GNVQ in automotive engineering, all told I have around 250 UCAS points.

Another problem I am facing is that I wear glasses and I cant wear contact lenses, is this a problem

2. I fink dat u may b 2 fick 4 occifer
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. hahaha funny guy guessing that spelling is a pun at me, would have expected more from a war hero as it says on your profile,

just trying to get some advice
  4. I did my GCSES almost 7 years ago, should this really count, I was not that far of a c in the first place
  5. You ain't got, you ain't got - don't worry son, the world needs shit shovellers as well as senior managers.

I suggest a great career awaits you as a rating until such time as you can get these Quals. Loads of other jobs need GCSE English and Maths Grade C - Teaching, Nursing etc.

Says it all really - see that lovely blonde nurse over there? I was not that far off shagging her last night...
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

A-men to that ;)

Unfortunately the only accepted equivalent for GCSE's are iGCSEs or Baccalaureate. NVQs/BTECs are not accepted in lieu of GCSEs unfortunately.

The BTEC L3 triple award, passed at merit or better can be accepted in lieu of the A Levels only.

Glasses are fine as long as your corrected & uncorrected visual acuity (VA) meets at least VA3. (No greater than +/- 6.00 in any diopter).