Officer recruitment

Discussion in 'The Corps' started by robin, May 6, 2006.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I'm about to graduate from university and I don't have a clear idea of what I want to do; my degree is not career-specific and I've never wanted to go into (yawn) sales or recruitment or any of that bollocks. I've done travelling and I'm tired of being a bum so I've been thinking about the military. I'm interested in the RM or the Paras because they have a reputation for being the best and if I'm going to do the forces I'd like to be all that I can be. I was just wondering if anyone out there could humour me with some advice.

I know I may not sound that enthusiastic but a career in the military has been on my mind since I was 15. I don't want to join the rat race, I'd sooner do something that's actually worthwhile; I'm up to speed with current affairs, pretty intelligent if I may be imodest for a second and I have good people skills. I know that marines are hard bastards; I'm not in great shape but if I decide I want to go for it I'll get in training for a while first. How does this all sound, if you see what I mean?

2. Be careful when you bat around terms like 'the best'.

Tends to get up people's noses. :)

Sounds like you have the motivation, but if you're doing it for the prestige or some kind of status, they'll quickly pick up on that at your various interviews.

I'd suggest thinking quite seriously as to why you want to join HMAF and look at what you can bring to the party.

3. If you're thinking about the Paras or the Royals then I recommend that you get enthuastic pretty quickly. or you won't make it past the first interview.