Officer Educational Requirements

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by EngMike79, Jan 13, 2016.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am here hopeful that somebody can explain the Educational Requirements for office entry to the rnr better than my local AFCO, or at least help me to understand..

I have applied to join the RNR as an officer, and on Monday I sat the RT which by all accounts I smashed.. However today I had a phone call from the AFCO, saying that there was issues with my educational standing namely I only have a D in GCSE English language, all other components are C. And I have far more than 5 GCSEs above C including maths and science. Now on its own I could accept that, however I have a BTEC national diploma in engineering which the they say doesn't give my enough UCAS points.. Well this was passed in the late 90s and predates UCAS points so there is no way to align it to the modern lower standard (mine equates according to ucas to 3 a levels) and that asside it was enough to get me entry to university to obtain a very good honours degree in engineering. There was even mention of me going back and resitting an English GCSE, well at 36 with a degree behind me I really don't see any need for that expense.

I would appreciate a little bit of advice from others maybe in the AFCO service as to am I being penalised for being and old sod, and having sat my qualifications all those years ago,
    Or am I being given slight mis information, I'd like to to go back to you AFCO a little bit more informed hence my post.

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

The academic requirement for entry as an Officer, regardless of higher educational qualifications, is 5 GCSEs, which must include maths & English, passed at Grade C or better.