Officer Direct Entry - Qualifications

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Thomsprey, Feb 27, 2016.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

I've had a quick look through and not seen anything relating to this so I thought I would ask. I'm doing my AS levels this year and hope to head to Dartmouth after I finish. So, first of all are two A levels required, or are 180 UCAS points accepted alternatively. For example, if I picked up 180 UCAS points through my AS levels and current vocational qualifications would the Navy accept me or require me to also do the respective A levels. Also, as a Welsh student I am currently doing the Welsh Baccalaureate. It's a new qualification and I was wondering if it was accepted by the Navy, as currently some universities don't accept it.

Cheers

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Welcome.

If you are doing A Levels, the service will want to know why you didn't take them to A2 in at least some subjects. AS Levels, in isolation, are only accepted when passed at Grade B or better, and not taken at A2.

With regards the Baccalaureate, they may be accepted (subject to confirmation/verification at AIB) towards the UCAS requirement.

The tip? If you want to be an Officer, at least finish sixth form.

The other slightly controversial issue is Welsh education frequently lets the student down in areas where English is taught as a secondary language rather than as one of the 'three Rs'. We see a significant number of Welsh students applying with good GCSE grades including Welsh, but falling short with regard the GCSE English requirement and the level required to pass the recruit test literacy section. This is simply because the subject is side-lined, much the same as other language subjects such as French, German, Spanish, etc., elsewhere in UK.

• Like Like x 1