NON CHANGE OF UY/SUY SERVICE NUMBERS ON ENTRY TO BRNC

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by FunDiver, Jan 17, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I attended and SUY acquaint at BRNC Dartmouth yesterday and was informed that due to JPA, that as of Jan 02 2007, on entry to BRNC the UY/SUY service numbers will not change from a 'D' number to a 'C0' number. :sad:

I was worried by this due to a couple of reasons; :???:

1. Confusion by other parties when giving details over the phone (bookings etc), :roll:
    2. Possible discrimination when appointments are sought, :evil:
    3. Endless explanations starting with " I don't care what service number I have, I AM AN OFFICER!" :shock:

Could anyone explain why,
    1, on JPA the service number cannot be changed and
    2, is someone doing something about this?

I wish that they would bring back Buzz Busters so that this can be sent out for wider viewing.... :evil:

Sensible suggestions please :roll:

2. It sounds a bit like when they introduced computerised pay many moons ago and officers had to have numbers for the first time, only because no one had bothered to set the system up to work without numbers. I suspect the real answer is the system was not set up to allow numbers to be changed and now they dont have the cash to change it.

The data base though should have your changed staus in it any way so I doubt in the end it will make much difference

3. Probably means more work for a civvy in having to alter your details on a computer.

heaven forbid the civvies should have more work to do !

4. ASAIK JPA is civilian software bought "off the shelf" with tweaks.
    Therefore it cannot introduce employee numbers starting with P/CO/D etc etc which is why all new numbers are just that, numbers.