Discussion in 'Submariners' started by Stepto, Aug 4, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there guys. I've just passed my test, eyetest and medical and I'm giving serious consideration to joining the submarine service. Any advice would be great.

Kind regards
    Stepto.

2. There are loads of threads giving advice to this subject, don't be lazy, have a look, I'm sure you will find the answers for yourself...

3. Would you like advice on any particular aspect of joining the Submarine Service?

4. Thanks for the replies. I have been looking through the other threds but I just needed some advice straight from the horse's mouth so to speak. A year ago I was an estate agent with a cushy job, company car and nice house. Here I am, a year later, considering signing up for four years and I've not even set foot on a submarine! I'ts such a huge move. I'm 32 years old and the only advice I've had is from the Armed Forces centre which I've taken with a huge pinch of salt. I've been into boats and the sea for years and love it and really crave being part of a team and doing something with my life. The simple fact is is that I have no idea what to expect. What's life on board like? What are the pros and cons? What made you guys do the amazing job you do? Why does it appeal so much to me when I know so little about it? Sorry to be so vague but the whole process is moving so quickly at the moment and I need to make some big choices fast!
    Thanks for your time and help.
    Stepto.

5. Sorry but when a lot of us that patronise this site joined boats we had served some time in 'gens' (general service). So thats my advice, 'get some time in' before volunteering for anything. See if you like first being a matelot and all that entails and like us, you will get an idea as to what the modern day submariner has to endure etc.