Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by benjamin88, Jan 19, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Arite lads and ladies?

Firstly I would like to say what a great forum this is, i have already read through a ton of threads and I have found a mass of information

I'm currently 19 (20 in Febuary), and I am in my second year of a BA in history at university, I have been considering a career in the marines since i was sixteen, but wanted to get some qualifications incase it was not for me. I have 10 GCSE'S and 320 ucas points from my a-levels. I'm 5 foot 9 inches and weigh 13 and a half stone, might sound like im a bit of a porker but i'm actually only 9% bodyfat, i love working out, i kick-box and love fitness training and dieting.

However it is my ambition to become a comissioned officer, and I am concerned that although i have a confident and leadership style personality, a good degree of all round intelligence and fitness, i lack actual examples of leadership and teamwork qualities, which of course is a big problem with something as competitive as becoming a officer. Probaly because i sustained two nasty injuries when i was 14 and 16 (broken collerbone by a prop jumping on me, then i got up and got thrown the ball and smashed by two centers which did futher damage and i went into a state of shock, second injury i broke the top part of my knee, which at first i thought wasnt that bad and i ended up walking around on it for a week before being in a full leg cast for 4 months, doctor said (my dpc was JPR which was cool) he had never seen anyone walk on a brake like that). Since then i took up more individual ways to keep up my passion for fitness (weight training and kick-boxing)