Newbie needs some help

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Kelborn, Jan 7, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all! Newbie on the forums(which probably means I've posted in the wrong place and insulted all the veterans by using the wrong size font) . I have a question pertaining to the AFCOs and the recruitment process in general, I live in Spain at the mo and am looking into joining the Navy, I was wondering how much of the process I can get done before having to make a trip back to blighty and of course if I'd be able to join from Spain.

I'm in my last year at university, should graduate in June at the latest. I'd like to know other people's experiences of when they applied, is it worth applying now before I've finished. Or would I be better advised to get it all wrapped up and done before applying?

Help is greatly appreciated :)
  2. I dont know much about joining when your abroad... so wont be much help

But i thought it was somehting like you had to have been in the UK for the past 5years to join or something?
  3. I'll explain some more for clarification. I was born in the UK and am a UK citizen. When I was 11 my parents decided to move to Spain and dragged me out to the land of sangria and bullfighting. I've maintained my UK citizenship/passport thoughout the period and have single nationality still. Now I'm 21 and looking to join up, of course I'll get in touch with an AFCO to clear things up when I get a chance, I was just wondering if anyone had any info.

THanks again for any help.

@Topaz, I'd read something like 3 years, but considering but my circumstances are hardly standard. Thanks though.
  4. Ninja_Stoker will be able to help you when he comes online
  5. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Hi welcome to Rum Ration

Requirements are as follows: