Newbie - Applying for Medical Assistant

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by deano232, Mar 13, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Newbie - Applying for: RN Medical Assistant

Hey guys!

Would just like to say how fantastic the forum is, the information here is endless and to be able to hear from all of your experiences is a great insight.

My names Dean, living in the sunny seaside of the West of Scotland. Just thought I would pop by to say hello from a complete newbie!

About to apply to the RN as a Medical Assistant, been thinking about it for years and finally come to the time to make the first step (regret not doing it years ago!). From having a nosy around the forums it seems the waiting time is around 24 months... all the more time to prepare for a huge life change!

Ill give you a little background on me:

Recently went through training with the Merchant Navy as a Junior Deck Officer... with my mind set on a more "medical" oriented profession yet a huge passion for the sea... was not a great move! Loved every minute of it though, from mopping the decks to handing out plasters and plotting routes across the world... was definitely an incredible experience. Although I just kept thinking about the medical side of things... hiding away in the ship's Hospital Cabin thinking... if only there were a role on the seas as a medic! (cabin fever at its best!:angel7:)

I left training unfortunately after a brilliant 4 month sea phase to begin training in healthcare. I have been involved as a volunteer First Aider for the past 3 years with St Andrew's Ambulance association as well, giving basic care at local and national events around Scotland.