New to RFA needing a little advice and help

Discussion in 'RFA' started by EmmaJ, May 24, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone I am looking to join up in the engineering side of the RFA as an apprentice, I have sent off my application and just waiting to hear back. I am just wondering on regards of training? How many phases etc? Salary at training? Fitness tests? 1.5 mile run? How long it would be to get the ball rolling and overall. And also I hear there is a travel expense, regarding the interview in Portsmouth can you get help for travel as I live a five hour journey away?

Thank you.
    • Like Like x 1
  2. You'll be at sultan for your training not sure about apprentices or how they are going to work but think it's around 14k in training then after 2 Years goes up to 26k, no fitness test, process takes a while and yes they cover expenses to go to interview.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Although you do have to pass the ENG1 Medical Test but there isnt a Fitness element(some doctors do make you run up some stairs thou).
    • Like Like x 1
  4. I'm going through the process at the moment aswell.
    I applied in April, got sent some forms to fill in and send back, then at the end of April received a letter asking me for the interview at Portsmouth on the 1st of July.
    They send you the expenses form, you fill it in and take it with you tithe interviews they then reimburse your money into your bank account.
    I'm from Scotland so have a fair it to travel.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Firstly.. Thank you all for messaging me!
    Do I go straight to sultan or would I do a phase first at Raleigh etc. I also read their is gym equipment on ship Which is good!
    In the RN I know there is sports to take part in etc. Is there anything like that with the rfa?
  6. exJenny

exJenny War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer