New JR No 1s

Discussion in 'Site Issues' started by Fournylons, Jun 29, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all , newbie here

The new Nos 1s with the crap silk/bow thing which is an embarassment. What was arong with the old rig?? too difficult to tie a bow AND use a nasty sharp pair of scissors ??

Anyway, Does anyone know where i can get hold of a replacement silk or even have one made up ? I was thinking the silk off the Tropical rig would do the job

I have a friends wedding coming up and i am not wearing that cheap looking tat on my rig

Any ideas/ suggestions/ donations would be great

Cheers

2. Not quite sure exactly what you mean by the 'new No 1's' as the No1A uniform has been in its present guise since around 1989/1990.

So I fail to see how YOU can have an old style square rig and be wearing it, unless you are some old boy who still likes dressing up in his number ones. For the record, I joined in 1977. :)

3. No my friend they have changed again since then, its not a change for good i joined in 90, then rejoined in 07 so i am an old boy !

4. It has changed I joined in the late 90's and the silk was sewn into the No's 1 Jacket. Unlike the tropical where you had a separate silk. They changed it in the early 2000's and the silk became separate but already made up with a bow already attached.

To be honest though it's a drip that's getting boring. Times have changed life in a blue one.

5. Its not the change which i have a problem , its the standard of it, it looks cheap and badly made. Im after the separate silk, do Louis Bernards/Jack blair do them??

6. Ask your local sea cadets (seriously, most of their units have stores full of old crap like that). I agree it does look cheap, but it has been round for a good few years now.

7. Cheers Dunkers, I thought maybe old Louis or Jack may do a better one

8. I'm confused.