New chap here...

Discussion in 'History' started by Repulse, Mar 28, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all.
    I'm new here... thought I'd post it in the History section as that is my main interest.
    At 46 I am a mature student at Sussex Uni studying history.... but I am the keeper of the family's heirlooms. My Dad's father joined the Navy at Chatham in 1911 (he walked from Dover with his mate, John (?) Jervis), and signed up for 12 years. Served on the Dwarf, Calypso, Africa, London, Vindictive (and others) and on the Repulse when she did the Royal Tour in 1923/24. He ended his career as Leading Stoker... (apparently didn't want promotion as = responsibility and cost of uniform!), and was signed off in 1931. Now my Dad told me that he was recalled for a 'little ship' at Dunkirk, but I only have his word for that, and which ship I have no idea, but would love to find out.

Luckily I have several photos of him in Med' uniform etc, and medals and a beautiful hand-tinted large photo of the Repulse.

Anyway, enough waffle ! Happy to be here.

Attached Files:

2. Welcome New chap nice dit and cracking photo of your Granddad, which I assume was taken before he headed off to the Gut for a few refreshments.
  3. Thanks, and yes, probably off to the Gut (?) for a drinkie !
  4. The Gut (or Straight Street to give it's real name) is a very narrow, steep street in Valetta. It consisted soley of bars and brothels and was a quality night out, sadly all gone now.

No offence to your Grandad, but looking at the way he fills his No 6 uniform, I'd say he'd spent more than one evening down there :)
  5. Happy daze, first went down there in 1974 :)

the gut1.jpg
  6. Ah, had never thought of the photographer before ! So that's where it all happened. Still looks a bit seedy, looking at that photo !