Need some information about joining

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by mrshll1001, Oct 7, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I'm a University Student studying Computing Science at Newcastle University (Stage 2) and I've been seriously considering the Navy as a career for some time now; I've held off making any official moves due to wanting to explore other opportunities - but nothing appealing has presented itself so far. I have a few questions/concerns about the recruitment process before I pop down my local recruitment office.

Firstly, as a CS student, I'm aware that Communications is probably the field I should be looking to work in. If anyone has any experience working in this area I'd love to hear their experiences, and what I can expect - or if there's any other areas I should be looking to apply my skills to in the Navy.

Secondly, I have several tattoos, most are of no concern and are extremely well hidden. However I have a tattoo of some thorns which forms a sort of half-sleeve around my upper right arm (ending about an inch above the elbow) and continues up to spread onto some of my right chest and right shoulder. Should this be a concern when applying?

Lastly, I am a practicing LaVeyan Satanist. I've done my research and come across the following article: BBC NEWS | UK | Navy approves first ever Satanist

This means that although I'm sure I can't be discriminated against officially, I would naturally have some concerns over putting it down on paper when asked. Atheist is an adequate label; so should I keep it zipped when going through recruitment or would it literally make no difference to the process at all?

2. So you are a wizard?

3. The navy has plenty of tattooed devil worshippers with communication skills, they're called Gunnery Instructors.

4. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator