Naval Uniform - What nationality are these men?

Discussion in 'History' started by jamoncho, May 20, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    Can anyone tell me what nationality are those sailors or where this picture might have been taken? I found this picture at my grandmother's house after she passed away. I'm trying to trace some family history. Other than British my nan had family members that where both Spanish and German.
    Any information would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

Jai

[​IMG]

2. (granny)

(granny) War Hero Book Reviewer

Looks very much like RN to me. Three badges showing on left arm. The way that the caps are worn, typical 'Jack'.

3. Agree looks similar to to some of these 1907 on.royal navy uniform 1907 - Google Search

4. tiddlyoggy

tiddlyoggy War Hero Book Reviewer

I'm no expert on this type of thing, but I'd agree with Granny and Topstop too. The lack of pom-poms and ribbons on the cap (very common with European navies) suggests RN to me.

5. wal

wal Badgeman

The wedding dresses are circa 1900s, England

6. Seaweed

Seaweed War Hero Book Reviewer

Looks very like Jack to me too, before he gets stuck into the beer at the reception. With the cloche hats I would date this 1920s.

7. If I remember rightly, German caps had a badge at the centre, so I think that can be ruled out. I would go with British as well.

Also, I've found an 1880-ish illustration of German sailors off-duty in a book of mine. They all appear to have their caps on straight, not like here. It's slightly before the era of this picture, but I suspect it wouldn't have changed radically.

Last edited: May 20, 2012
  8. [​IMG]

[​IMG]

German Navy uniform up to 1918

9. I think we can rule out Spanish Navy

[​IMG]

10. Cor look ay that one on the left with all the flowers you can see her ankles!! Bet she's a goer!

• Like Like x 1
  11. Seaweed