Naval Uniform - What nationality are these men?

Hi,
Can anyone tell me what nationality are those sailors or where this picture might have been taken? I found this picture at my grandmother's house after she passed away. I'm trying to trace some family history. Other than British my nan had family members that where both Spanish and German.
Any information would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

Jai

tiddlyoggy

War Hero
Book Reviewer
I'm no expert on this type of thing, but I'd agree with Granny and Topstop too. The lack of pom-poms and ribbons on the cap (very common with European navies) suggests RN to me.

Seaweed

War Hero
Book Reviewer
Looks very like Jack to me too, before he gets stuck into the beer at the reception. With the cloche hats I would date this 1920s.

admiralscruff

Lantern Swinger
If I remember rightly, German caps had a badge at the centre, so I think that can be ruled out. I would go with British as well.

Also, I've found an 1880-ish illustration of German sailors off-duty in a book of mine. They all appear to have their caps on straight, not like here. It's slightly before the era of this picture, but I suspect it wouldn't have changed radically.

Last edited:
If I remember rightly, German caps had a badge at the centre, so I think that can be ruled out. I would go with British as well.

Also, I've found an 1880-ish illustration of German sailors off-duty in a book of mine. They all appear to have their caps on straight, not like here. It's slightly before the era of this picture, but I suspect it wouldn't have changed radically.

German Navy uniform up to 1918

Hi,
Can anyone tell me what nationality are those sailors or where this picture might have been taken? I found this picture at my grandmother's house after she passed away. I'm trying to trace some family history. Other than British my nan had family members that where both Spanish and German.
Any information would be much appreciated.

Thank you,

Jai