Mopeds and such like - Some advice needed

Discussion in 'Motoring' started by security_geek, Sep 23, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. My 17 year old has come to live with me while he does the first year of his apprenticeship.

I am trying to get him to look at a moped or such like to try to give him some independence from me/OH running him around or having to pay bus/train fares.

Can anyone give me a reccomendation on;

1. A good local place to do his CBT (near Wickham). Is there such a thing as a try it out session? he has only ever ridden a pushbike so is a bit uncertain about the whole thing. I have no experience with 2 wheel things either.
    2. What sort of mobey or small bike he should be looking at and what price 2nd hand
    3. A good garage or dealer to buy such a machine from or that can answer questions etc
    Any help would be appreciated. Oh it will have to get him up the back of Portsdown hill every day to get him to Highbury college so it will need to be capable of doing that.

I have looked through the posts on here but it appears to be a couple of years out of date so thought I would ask for some more up to date advice
  2. Judging by the amount of them on the road the new Vespas seem to be pretty good. I'd say a good 60% of the bikes I see in London are Vespas.

If you are on a budget you can get a brand new Chinese made scooter for under a 700 notes.

The CBT is a piece of piss, unless your boy is a complete mong he will have no trouble at all. I liken it to a cycling proficiency test but with an engine.
  3. Vespa's are also the most stolen bike in London this quarter so be careful if buying second hand.
  4. Having come up through the ranks on scoots, 50cc to my current 600cc scoot I would say we all have to start somewhere.