MN to RN transfer

Good day all,

I am writing this post to get you professional experience and reviews on transferring from the MN to RN. I know mostly its the opposite way around where people wanting to go RN to MN

I am currently serving as a 2nd engineer onboard a merchant vessel, I have all MCA qualifications in engineering watchkeeping (STCW III/2) and relevant STCW certs. I have completed my cadetship and have been qualified for 4 years so I have job experience. I previously joined the RN when I was younger just out of school but I left shortly afterward as I felt I was to young. Now I have settled down and I am wanting to re-apply again as I want a more challenging career.

At the moment I am an engineering officer and would like to join the RN as an engineering officer but I am told I cannot join as a officer as I don't have a degree (I took the HND route), I have seen the Re-engineer your career advertisement which would allow me to enter as a direct entry petty officer. I know this is a rating role but at least I will be able to gain experience in what the real life is like in the RN prior to advancing up the ranks. is this a good idea? Is there any engineers out there to be able to enlighten me on the roles of a petty officer in the engineering department?

Being told also that there is a possibility of the RN putting me though the course so I can obtain a Beng (hons) degree in which I can them advance to an officer role, has anyone done this scheme?

I thank you for any information or guidance you may have.

soleil

War Hero
Being told also that there is a possibility of the RN putting me though the course so I can obtain a Beng (hons) degree in which I can them advance to an officer role, has anyone done this scheme?

Good morning, MNE

Details of the Engineering Degree scheme are in Chapter 50 of BR3.