MN and RNR

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by sara21, Mar 11, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,
    I have decided to postpone joining the RN as an Officer in favour of training with BAS for 3 years as a Deck Officer Cadet- something I thought too good to pass up.

I was wondering if it is possible to join the RNR if you are serving in the MN? Obviously I will have other commitments and will be spending the majority of my training at sea, and I thought this may hinder my chance of joining the RNR. I am a graduate and know that I would have to sit the AIB, but apart from that I know NOTHING about the RNR. I hope one day, after BAS are finished with me, to join the RN full time so I would also like advice on how transferable my OOW cert will be, if at all.

Cheers

2. I'm not sure what MN and BAS is but if you are thinking of joining the RNR you do need to be able to manage a minimum comittment. We ask our new entries to aim for 75%. If you do much less you will find yourself being left behind.

3. Merchant Navy and British Antarctic Survey.

4. In short; yes.

5. Link
    Just a starter for 10 Sara21.

I assume your cadetship would have a period at college, Warsash or wherever, in which case you should have enough time to get through New Entry/AIB/Fleet board.

There is a definite understanding, in most units, as to the unique situation of MN officers and a more leeway is applied, with regards to attendance etc.